HWA Scholarships

August 1, 2024
Awards Available: 14

Scholarship Description

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) is pleased to offer a variety of scholarships to assist writers looking to pursue a career as a writer of horror fiction, nonfiction, or poetry. We also offer one endowment to libraries to expand their young adult reading programs. HWA is dedicated to promoting the horror genre and providing education to both the general public (via our appearances at conventions and book festivals, our yearly StokerCons, and our iconic Bram Stoker Awards) and to writers.


The Scholarships are open to all applicants. Membership in HWA is not a requirement.

Application Process

All applicants must use the online application forms, filling in all sections and uploading the documents requested. Failure to include any information may invalidate the entry

The HWA and Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley Scholarships are worth $2500. The Dennis Etchison Young Writers Scholarship is worth $500, the Diversity Grants are worth $500 (for up to 4), and the Young Adults Write Now Endowments are worth $250 each (for up to 5). The Dark Poetry Scholarship is worth $1,250. The Rocky Wood Memorial Scholarship for Nonfiction Writing and The Scholarship From Hell offer flexible amounts, depending on the year.

Scholarships.com Scholarship Search