Sagebrush Circuit - Lew & Jo Eklund Educational Scholarship

April 15, 2025
Awards Available: 1

Scholarship Description

The Sagebrush Circuit - Lew & Jo Eklund Educational Scholarship will be awarded to a college junior, senior, or graduate student pursing a degree in an Equine-Related field. The applicant must be currently maintaining a GPA of 3.5 of a 4.0 scale or 5.2 on a 6.0 scale. Each applicant must be a current member of the Appaloosa Horse Club or the Appaloosa Youth Association to be eligible to apply for an Appaloosa Youth Foundation scholarship. Students who are in the immediate family of an employee, representative, or national director of the ApHC or the AYF are not eligible to apply.

Scholarships are awarded annually, with the entire amount paid to the financial office of the college or university the student will be attending. The entire award is paid at the beginning of the student’s first semester; is non-transferable from the recipient; and must be used within one year. Three letters of personal recommendation must be mailed separately from the application itself. Scoring for the application is based upon scholastic aptitude, leadership potential, the ability to communicate community and civic responsibilities, financial need content, and presentation. Scholarship Search