Niche College Scholarship

a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp Architect Scholarship

February 1, 2024
Awards Available: 2

Scholarship Description

Established in 1990 by a/e ProNet, a professional association providing risk management services to architects and engineers, the David W. Lakamp Architect Scholarship continues to honor the legacy of David W. Lakamp, a founding member of a/e ProNet and a trusted advisor in the field of insurance services. This annual scholarship, now named in his honor, is awarded to up to two students demonstrating a strong interest in practice and risk management within the architecture profession, with each recipient receiving a $5,000 award.

Eligibility Criteria

  • GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • U.S. Citizen
  • A fourth-year student in a NAAB accredited degree program; OR
  • A fourth-year student of a four-year pre-professional degree program in architecture accepted for direct entry to a two-year NAAB accredited M.Arch program; OR
  • A first-year student in a NAAB accredited M.Arch degree program for students with undergraduate degrees in another discipline.

Application Requirements

  • A personal biography highlighting interest or concentration in practice or risk management (200 words)
  • A professional resume
  • A response to a case study topic included in the application (500 words)
  • Two letters of recommendation

Important Dates

  • Application Period: October 1 - January 31
  • Review Period: February-March
  • Scholarship recipient selection meeting: April
  • Scholarship recipients notified: Immediately following the meeting
  • First scholarship disbursement: August

Evaluation Criteria

The review process uses a points breakdown with a maximum total of 30 possible points, covering Letters of Recommendation, Resume, Biography, and Case Study Response.

  • Letters of Recommendation: 5 Possible (each)
  • Resume: 5 Possible
  • Biography: 5 Possible
  • Case Study Response: 10 Possible

Review Process

  • Incomplete applications are immediately disqualified.
  • The top 10 applicants are identified based on scores.
  • Jurors discuss the top applications, recommending applicants for consideration.
  • Final deliberations take place in a final jury call to determine scholarship recipients.


  • Scholarship recipients receive a phone call notifying them of their award.
  • All other applicants receive an email notification indicating they did not receive the award.

The a/e ProNet David W. Lakamp Architect Scholarship is not just a financial support initiative but a recognition of dedication to practice and risk management within the architecture profession. Scholarship Search